The California Planning Foundation (CPF) is a nonprofit, charitable corporation established to further the professional practice of planning in California. CPF achieves this goal through its primary activity of scholarships and awards to university students in financial need, who have demonstrated academic excellence at planning programs throughout California. In 2015, CPF awarded over $50,000 in scholarships to California planning students.

Our planning community lost two of our very best this past year: Ted Holzem and Virginia Viado. Virginia and Ted were both active member of APA California and served on the Board of the California Planning Foundation. In their honor, we have established two new scholarships. We are reaching out to our community of planners to honor the tremendous contributions of these two individuals through these memorial scholarships. You can also make a general donation to support CPF scholarships.

Donations can be made securely through Paypal at the links below, or by sending a check to the following address, made out to “California Planning Foundation”:

Laurie Gartrell, CPF Treasurer
c/o SANDAG, 401 B St., Suite 800
San Diego, CA 92101

If you have any questions about donating to CPF, please contact Laurie Gartrell at

Ted Holzem Memorial Scholarship


Ted spent the majority of his career at Mintier Harnish, where he began as an Assistant Planner in 2003 and was promoted to Principal Planner in 2015. His professional contributions received frequent recognition, winning awards from the American Planning Association (APA). He established the Sacramento Valley APA Young Planners Group (YPG), which received national recognition and became a model for YPG groups across the country. Ted served on the California Chapter APA Board of Directors from 2009 to 2013, and was elected to the California Planning Foundation Board of Directors in 2014.

Please support the Ted Holzem Memorial Scholarship. Thanks to everyone who has supported this scholarship in Ted’s honor.

Virginia Viado Memorial Scholarship


Virginia Viado received her degree in planning from Cal Poly Pomona. She was very involved in her profession and worked as a Senior Environmental Planner at AECOM. Virginia was also active in the American Planning Association (APA) having served on the California State Board of Directors for years in a wide variety of roles. She was also a member of the Board of Directors for the California Planning Foundation, taking on a major role coordinating our annual auction for many years, prior to stepping down in 2011.

Please support the Virginia Viado Memorial Scholarship. Thanks to everyone who has supported this scholarship in Virginia’s honor.

Make a General Donation to CPF

In addition to support for Ted and Virginia’s scholarships, we also welcome your support for student scholarships at any of the levels below:

  • Sustaining Level Sponsor: $5,000 minimum (donation is awarded over the next 5-years)
  • Platinum Level Sponsor: $2,000 – $4,999
  • Gold Level Sponsor: $1,500 – $1,999
  • Silver Level Sponsor: $1,000 – $1,499
  • Bronze Level Sponsor: $500 – $999
  • Friend of CPF: $300 – $499
  • Financial Aid Associate: $200 – $299
  • Student Advocate: $100 – $199
  • Scholarship Supporter: Less than $100 (all donations amounts are greatly appreciated)

Other Information

If you would like to contribute to CPF in other ways, such as establishing a scholarship as part of estate planning, establishing a permanently endowed scholarship, or by contributing to a specific scholarship, please contact Laurie Gartrell at

All donations are acknowledged at the annual CPF Auction held during the APA California Conference, and receive special “thank you” on the CPF website. All Sustaining Level Sponsors receive scholarship-naming privileges for their donation. All Corporate Sponsor level donations and Friend of CPF level donations include the placement of a calling card advertisement and link to your homepage on the CPF website. All donations to CPF are tax deductible and you will receive a copy of CPF’s W-9 Tax Identification Certification for your use in tax/accounting purposes with your receipt.

Our 2017 Donors

We would like to extend our heartfelt appreciation to everyone who has supported the California Planning Foundation this year.

Platinum Level Sponsor

  • Neil Dipalo (Dipalo Foundation)

Gold Level Sponsor

  • Juan Borelli
  • Tammy Seale

Silver Level Sponsor

  • Sacramento Valley Section

Bronze Level Sponsor

  • Chelsey Payne
  • George Osner
  • Urban Planning Partners.

Friend of CPF

  • Dana Privitt
  • Jacobson and Wack
  • Paul Wack

Financial Aid Associate

  • Don Holzem
  • Jesse Law

Student Advocate

  • Heather Phillips
  • Kathryn Meis
  • Katheryn Bosworth

Scholarship Supporter

  • Renee Funston

Past Donors