About CPF Scholarships

The California Planning Foundation (CPF) supports outstanding planning students across the state of California who are entering their final year of an eligible undergraduate or graduate degree program. Criteria for the scholarships include academic performance, financial need, increasing diversity in the planning profession, and a commitment to serve the planning profession in California after graduation. 

Congratulations to the 2019-2020 scholarship recipients listed below, and we look forward to raising funds to support scholarships for next year during the 2019 APA California Conference in Santa Barbara!

2019-2020 Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to the 2019-2020 CPF Scholarship Recipients!

CPF Major and Named Scholarship Awards

Outstanding Student Award ($5,000)*

Marta Polovin, University of California Berkeley


Outstanding Student Award, Runner-Up ($3,000 each)*

Ashley Wagner, University of California, Berkeley

Elena Eimert, UC Berkeley

Amy Young, University of California, Los Angeles


Diversity in Planning Award ($3,000)*

Amiel Leano Atanacio, UC Berkeley


Merit Scholarships ($3,000 each)

Cassie Halls, UCLA

Shannon McCarthy, University of California, Berkeley

Lily MacIver, University of California, Berkeley


Richard H. Weaver Scholarship ($2,000)

Eduardo Galdamez, University of California, Irvine


California Planning Roundtable (CPR) Memorial Scholarships ($1,000 each)

Amy Zhou, UCLA

Isabel Qi, University of Southern California

Kareem El-Sisi, University of Southern California


APA California Scholarship in honor of Frank Wein ($1,000)

Kavina Yashang Patel, University of Southern California


David Wilcox Scholarship ($1,000)

Jorge Canez, University of California, Los Angeles


Ken Milam Scholarship ($1,000)

Erik Mumm, UC San Diego


Paul Wack Cal Poly SLO Scholarship ($1,000)

Jayeong Kim, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo


Paul Wack Sustainability Scholarship ($1,000)

Lauren Dickinson, San Jose State University


Planners4Health Scholarship ($1,000)

Ashley Wagner, University of California, Berkeley


Ted Holzem Memorial Scholarship ($1,000)

Max Heninger, UC Berkeley – CED


Virginia Viado Memorial Scholarship ($1,000)

Victoria Urenia, USC Sol Price School of Public Policy


*Includes a full conference registration to the 2019 APA California Planning Conference held in Santa Barbara.


 Section Scholarship Awards

Russell Fey / Central Valley Section ($1,000 each)

Viridiana Santoyo, UC Berkeley


Central Coast Section ($1,000 each)

Brian McGinnis, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo


Inland Empire Section ($1,000 each)

Stephanie Camacho Arriola, Cal Poly Pomona


Los Angeles Section ($1,000 each)

Lemessis Quintero, Cal Poly Pomona

Anna Geannopoulos-Solorzano, University of California Los Angeles

Dongyang Lin, University of Southern California


Northern Section ($1,000 each)

Isa Gaillard, University of California, Berkeley

Beatriz Guerrero Auna, University of California, Berkeley

Diego Rentería, UC Berkeley

Mariela Herrick, University of California Berkeley

Andrea Carranza, University of California, Berkeley


Orange Section ($1,000 each)

Vanessa Gonzalez, University of California, Irvine

Prathna Maharaj, UC Irvine


Sacramento Valley Section ($3,000 each)

Evangelina Chavez, Sacramento State University

Brianna Banks-McLean, University of California, Davis


San Diego Section ($1,000 each)

Rhiannon Koh, University of California, San Diego

Maya Kulkarni, University of California, San Diego



Past CPF Scholarship Recipients